If you are searching for what changed in the NCCHC 2026 standards, you have probably already found that NCCHC publishes highlights and then a bookstore button. This page is the highlights, organised and sourced — plus an honest account of what you still cannot get without buying the manual.
The dates
Two distinctions worth getting right, because secondary coverage regularly blurs them.
Announced is not the same as required. NCCHC announced the jail and prison standards on August 5, 2025. Its language is that facilities "will need to be in compliance with the new Standards starting January 1, 2026." Several write-ups describe the standards as "launching" or "taking effect" on January 1, which collapses two different dates.
Jails and prisons are two separate manuals. They share one release, one numbering scheme and one effective date, but Standards for Health Services in Jails and Standards for Health Services in Prisons are distinct publications. Both replace 2018 editions.
The certification exams moved too: the CCHP exam began referencing the new standards on February 25, 2026, and the CCHP-MH exam on April 1, 2026.
Juvenile and opioid treatment program surveys are unaffected. NCCHC states these "will reference the current manuals until further notice."
The two structural changes that touch every standard
The individual standard revisions get the attention, but two format changes apply across the whole manual and are arguably the bigger operational story.
Supporting Survey Documentation
NCCHC: "Each standard now includes a detailed list of recommended documentation to guide facilities in preparing for NCCHC accreditation surveys."
This is the first time NCCHC has published, standard by standard, what it expects to see in your binder. If you have ever guessed at what an assessor wanted, that guessing is now formally answered — inside the manual.
Interpretive Guidance (formerly "Discussion")
NCCHC: "Formerly titled 'Discussion,' this section now provides clearer explanations of compliance expectations, required elements, and best practices."
The section that tells you what compliance actually means has been rewritten and renamed. If your internal crosswalks or policy templates reference "Discussion," they now point at something that no longer exists by that name.
The standards are also available in a digital format for the first time. NCCHC describes it as "a single-user license" that "allows annotation, but does not permit printing or network sharing." Worth knowing before you buy one licence for a team.
Jail and prison standards — NCCHC's stated changes
The table below reproduces the changes NCCHC itself listed, grouped by theme. All standard numbers in this section refer to the jail and prison manuals. The mental health manual uses the same letter-number scheme for different standards — see the warning after the table.
Intake and screening
- E-02 — "A receiving screening is required within six hours of admission to the facility."
- E-04 — "An initial health assessment is now required on all incoming individuals."
- E-05 — "Additional topics were added to the initial mental health screening requirements."
- E-06 — "Initial oral exams may now be deferred under specific conditions."
- E-10 — "Discharge planning now includes mandatory support for applying for health insurance before release."
Clinical services
- F-01 — "A chronic disease management program is now required."
- F-02 — "Requirements were added for facilities with an acute residential mental health unit on-site."
- F-03 — "MOUD protocols and SUD services are addressed in a renamed and expanded F-03 standard."
- F-05 — "Additional requirements for pregnant patients, postpartum care, and pregnancy loss were added."
- F-06 and F-07 — NCCHC writes that standards "such as" Infirmary-Level Care (F-06) and Care for the Terminally Ill (F-07) "now apply to all facilities, regardless of whether these services are provided on-site." Note the "such as" — these are cited as examples, so the change may reach further than these two.
- B-03 — "Annual health assessments and dental examinations are now required under Clinical Preventive Services."
- B-06 — "Continuation of verified contraception medication is now required upon admission to the facility."
One new standard
- F-08 · Gender-Affirming Health Care Services — added as an Important standard. NCCHC describes it only as giving "guidance to facilities on providing multidisciplinary care to support and affirm gender identity." That single sentence is the entire public description.
Infection control, pharmacy and operations
- B-02 — requirements "expanded to include information related to negative pressure rooms, management of communicable disease outbreaks, hand hygiene requirements, and disinfection."
- D-01 — "Substantial updates/changes were made to pharmaceutical operations to reflect current practice."
- D-05 — regular-diet and medical-diet content combined "so all diet related information appears in one standard."
- D-06 → A-01 — the Patient Escorts standard "was eliminated, but its provisions are included in Access to Care (A-01)."
Staffing, training and credentialing
- C-01 — credentialing "expanded and now also include telehealth services provided by qualified health care professionals, qualified mental health professionals and providers."
- C-02 — annual peer review "now focused specifically on providers and licensed mental health professionals, while RNs and LPNs/LVNs require annual competency assessments."
- C-04, C-05, C-09 — additional training topics added for custody staff, for medication administration (now with an annual requirement for all staff who administer or deliver medications), and for health staff new hire orientation.
- C-08 — "A health care liaison is now required any time qualified health care professionals are not on-site."
Governance, records and review
- A-08 — "Items required within a health record are now detailed in a compliance indicator within Health Records." Note the mechanism: moving requirements into a compliance indicator matters, because NCCHC states each indicator must be met individually.
- A-09 — "An administrative review meeting is now required within 90 calendar days and the time period for completing a psychological autopsy for any suicide has been updated to 90 calendar days." NCCHC does not say 90 days from what, or whether this lengthens or shortens the prior requirement.
- A-10 — "A grievance log and discussion of grievances in CQI meetings are now required."
- B-08 — "Adverse clinical events and near-miss events are now a required discussion in CQI meetings."
- G-02 — "Contact frequency information has been updated for those in restrictive housing." The new frequency is not stated publicly.
- G-05 — "Psychotropic medications now require documented informed consent."
Two standards moved from Important to Essential
C-08 (Health Care Liaison) and D-03 (Clinic Space, Equipment, and Supplies) "have been updated to Essential from Important."
This is the change with the sharpest consequence. Essential standards require 100% compliance; important standards require 85%. A standard you could previously miss without losing accreditation is now one you cannot.
Renamed standards
Sixteen standards were renamed. If your policy index, crosswalk or binder tabs use the old titles, they are now out of date:
- A-02 Responsible Health Authority and Designated Health Staff (was Responsible Health Authority)
- A-07 Confidentiality and Privacy of Care (was Privacy of Care)
- A-09 Procedure in the Event of a Death (was Procedure in the Event of an Inmate Death)
- B-02 Infection Prevention and Control (was Infectious Disease Prevention and Control)
- B-06 Contraception Services (was Contraception)
- C-02 Clinical Peer Review and Competency Assessment (was Clinical Performance Enhancement)
- C-04 Health Training for Custody Staff (was Health Training for Correctional Officers)
- C-06 Incarcerated Workers In Health Services (was Inmate Workers)
- D-02 Medication Administration Services (was Medication Services)
- D-05 Nutrition Services (was Medical Diets)
- E-07 Nonemergent Health Care Requests and Services (was Nonemergency…)
- E-08 Nurse-Initiated Protocols and Procedures (was Nursing Assessment Protocols and Procedures)
- F-01 Chronic Disease Management and Specialized Health Care Services (was Patients with Chronic Disease and Other Special Needs)
- F-03 Services for Substance Use Disorder (was Medically Supervised Withdrawal)
- F-05 Care of the Pregnant and Postpartum Patient (was Counseling and Care of the Pregnant Inmate)
- G-02 Restrictive Housing (was Segregated Inmates)
Mental health standards — what NCCHC has stated
All standard numbers in this section refer to the mental health manual. The 2026 edition replaces the 2015 edition, and NCCHC frames it as more than a routine revision: "a fundamental change toward equity, clinical accountability, and modern best practices."
The manual has been "reorganized to align with the structure of the 2026 Jail and Prison Standards," and carries the same two structural changes — Interpretive Guidance replacing Discussion, and Supporting Survey Documentation in every standard.
The specific changes NCCHC names:
- B-03 · Suicide Prevention and Intervention — the most substantively described change in the public record. It "introduces safety precaution monitoring of individuals at risk of suicide as well as those who engage in self-harm, reinforces the use of closed circuit television to supplement monitoring but not substitute for direct staff observations, and now requires patient follow-up by a QMHP once an individual has been removed from safety precautions."
- C-09 · Orientation for MH Staff — a new standard requiring "basic and in-depth orientation for mental health staff."
- G-02 · Restrictive Housing — "introduces stringent requirements for mental health rounds." The frequency is not stated publicly.
- QMHP and QHCP roles — "clear delineation of QMHP vs. QHCP roles for mental health screening and evaluation," with "enhanced triage and referral expectations."
- Integrated care — new emphasis on collaborative case management planning across custody, medical and mental health; mental health's role in medical screenings "more explicitly defined"; interdisciplinary treatment teams for patients with serious mental illness.
- Terminology — the edition "removes outdated, stigmatizing language (e.g., 'inmate with mental illness') in favor of people-first terms like 'individual receiving mental health care.'"
Unlike the jail and prison manuals, NCCHC has not published a free rename or deletion list for mental health. Which six standards were cut from the 58 is not publicly stated — though the paid 228-slide overview covers the changes.
What has not changed
The accreditation mechanics are unchanged and worth restating, because several 2026 revisions interact with them.
- 100% / 85%. Every standard is classified essential or important. All applicable essential standards must be met; at least 85% of applicable important standards.
- No partial credit. NCCHC: "Accreditation is not based on partial compliance; each compliance indicator must be met in order to meet the standard." This is why A-08 moving record requirements into a compliance indicator matters.
- Documentation lookback. Initial surveys need at least 12 months of documentation; reaccreditation surveys need 36 months. Important 2026 caveat — NCCHC has said facilities are not expected to show 36 months of compliance with the new requirements. See the transition section below.
- Annual Maintenance Report each year, with on-site visits "about every three years." NCCHC hedges on the interval; it is not a hard three years.
The 36-month lookback raises an obvious question against a January 2026 effective date: a reaccreditation survey in 2027 reaches back into years governed by the 2018 standards. NCCHC has answered this — see below.
The transition rule: what NCCHC actually said, and where it said it
This is the question that brings most people here, and the answer is genuinely hard to find — because NCCHC did not put it on any of its standards pages.
First, the trap. Search for how the transition works and you will likely land on NCCHC's accreditation Q&A, which describes a six-month window: surveys in one date range under the old standards, a middle period where the facility may choose, and a date after which all surveys use the new edition. That answer is about the 2018 rollout. It names the 2014 and 2018 editions and an April 21 release date. It is a real NCCHC document, it is still on the site, and it is not 2026 guidance.
Now the part almost nobody has surfaced. NCCHC published 2026-specific transition guidance in its CorrectCare newsletter — Spring 2026, in the Standards Q&A column by Wendy Habert, Director of Accreditation. It is a PDF, it is not linked from the standards pages, and it answers the 36-month question directly:
"Facilities are not expected to demonstrate 36 months of compliance with these new requirements. Instead, surveyors will assess the steps taken toward implementation as of January 2026, rather than expecting full historical compliance with the new elements." Source: CorrectCare, Spring 2026, page 22.
That is a meaningful answer, and it should change how you prepare. You are not being asked to retroactively document three years of compliance with requirements that did not exist. You are being asked to show what you have done since January 2026 to implement them.
Practically: keep a dated implementation record — when you revised each policy, when you trained on it, when the new practice actually started. Under this guidance that record is the evidence, and it is far more achievable than a three-year lookback.
There is a second, separate grace provision on the certification side. CorrectCare Fall 2025 notes that "as occurs every time a new set of standards comes out, there is a six-month grace period before the changes are reflected on the exams." That one is about the CCHP exams, not about surveys — don't mix them up.
What is still not publicly answered
- Whether any tiered choice-of-edition window exists for surveys falling close to the effective dates, as it did in 2018
- What "appropriate grace and flexibility" means in scoring terms — it is a stated posture, not a rule with thresholds
- Whether already-accredited facilities must take any action before their next scheduled survey
If your survey date is anywhere near these thresholds, confirm the governing edition and the grace posture with NCCHC accreditation staff directly, in writing. Do not reason from the 2018 answer, and do not rely on this page.
Where the free record stops
This is the part other summaries leave out. Everything below is genuinely unavailable without buying the manual, and each item is something an accreditation manager actually needs.
- The complete standard list. No public source lists all 2026 jail and prison standards with numbers and titles. The release names roughly thirty in passing. The full roster and total count are not public. (The mental health count — 52 across seven sections — is public. The jail and prison count is not.)
- Every compliance indicator. This is the layer accreditation actually turns on, and not one 2026 indicator is published anywhere.
- The Supporting Survey Documentation lists. The flagship new feature. Not one of those lists is public. You cannot build a survey binder from free sources.
- Interpretive Guidance text. Entirely paywalled.
- Essential vs. important for every standard. Only three data points are public: C-08 and D-03 moved up, F-08 arrives as Important. Everything else is unknown — and that classification decides whether the 100% or the 85% threshold applies to you.
- The specifics behind the vague descriptions. "Additional training topics were added" (C-04, C-05, C-09, E-05) — which topics, for all four. "Substantial updates" to pharmaceutical operations (D-01) — what updates. The new restrictive housing contact frequency (G-02). The conditions under which oral exams may be deferred (E-06). The required elements of the chronic disease management program (F-01). The actual content of F-08.
- Changed definitions. The transition materials advertise updated definitions. A changed definition of QHCP, QMHP or "health assessment" silently changes scope across many standards.
NCCHC sells two transition publications: a 278-slide overview of changes for the jail and prison standards, and a 228-slide version for mental health. That NCCHC needs 278 slides to detail the revisions is the clearest available measure of how much sits behind the paywall — and a reasonable argument for buying them if you are carrying this cycle.
A note on the coverage you will find elsewhere
While assembling this page, one thing stood out. The apparently independent coverage of the 2026 standards largely is not independent.
The byline on NCCHC's jail and prison release, on NCCHC's mental health release, on the Psychiatric Times article, and on the NCCHC Resources posts is the same person — an association marketing executive. The two "expert quotes" in the Psychiatric Times piece are word-for-word identical to NCCHC's own press release. Three sources, one origin.
The one genuinely independent piece is a law firm alert, and its most useful contribution is a framing point rather than a standards detail: "While NCCHC is an accrediting body, not a government regulatory agency, adherence to its standards is a crucial benchmark for legally adequate healthcare in a correctional setting." That alert also covers Illinois Medicaid and state statute alongside NCCHC — do not conflate a state MAT mandate with NCCHC's F-03 revision.
There is, as far as I can find, no coverage at all from ACA, AJA, NSA, ACHSA, or any newspaper. No academic commentary. No litigation yet citing the 2026 edition.
What I'd do with this
If you are carrying an NCCHC cycle, three things are worth doing this month, none of which require buying anything:
- Update your index before your binder. Sixteen renamed standards and one eliminated standard mean your policy crosswalk points at titles that no longer exist. That is a couple of hours and it prevents a lot of confusion later.
- Re-check C-08 and D-03 specifically. They moved to Essential. Whatever tolerance you had on those is gone.
- Call NCCHC about your survey date. The transition rule is not public. Get it in writing for your facility rather than reasoning from the 2018 answer.
And the broader point, which is why I write about this at all: a manual reissue is exactly when the binder model fails. Every cross-reference in a paper system silently goes stale the day the edition changes, and nobody discovers it until an assessor asks a question the old edition did not contain. Sixteen renames in one cycle is a lot of silent staleness.
I work with agencies on that problem. If you want to talk through what your next cycle looks like — or you spot something on this page that is wrong or out of date — I would genuinely like to hear from you.